Camp Scatico ’15, Here We Go!

Cooking Cabin with awning!

Cooking Cabin with awning!

It’s that time of year again!  The month that I head off to Camp Scatico, with the knowledge that my (relatively intact) sanity will start to dribble away.  But even though I know that it’s going to be a crazy summer, I am so excited I could just burst.  Camp Scatico brings out the good crazy in everybody.  It’s only 90 minutes from New York, but it feels like such a retreat.

This year brings its own unique set of challenges.  I am looking forward to seeing so many returning campers!  But this also means that I have to find new, camp-friendly recipes to trot out this year.  (“Can’t you throw in a few of the hits from last year?” my social media manager Molly suggested.  “Like making cheese.  They should do that every year!”)  Maybe she’s right, but regardless, I’ll have my hands full.

Fortunately, I have some new helpers this year.  Chef Robin joins me again in a larger capacity this time.  He washed dishes at Camp Scatico last year, and since I spend, like, a LOT of time in the kitchen, I got to know him.  I am so happy to have him on board.  I have a few fearless and intrepid counselors from last year.  Chef Robin headed to Camp Scatico early to clean and scrub and get everything looking nice.  However, I’m taking coziness to a whole new level this summer as I attempt to squeeze a full-size bed into my cabin’s tiny frame.  I will definitely post pictures!

Leave a Reply

