“Mini” Camp Scatico

Mini Camp Spread“Mini-camp” is the Camp Scatico tradition whereby each camper gets to pick his favorite activity and do it all day.  The good news:  cooking was in high demand!  I have to admit this stoked my ego, at least until I figured out how much extra work that would mean for me.  Not that I mind, though!

For the ladies, we had two sessions:  one in the morning and one at night.  Props to Emma, my right-hand “Gal Friday” from the girls’ side.  We decided to do a tea party!  We made fun hats out of plates and ribbons and served finger sandwiches, scones, cookies, iced teas and mini berries and cream. The little girls were in heaven.Mini Camp Scones

The "after" picture of the boys' buffet.  No time to do a "before!"  Too hungry.

The “after” picture of the boys’ buffet. No time to do a “before!” Too hungry.

For the boys I chose a New Orleans theme!  Chef Chase, my main helper from the boys’ side, was away for the day (missed you, Chase!), but I was assigned four fabulous counselors in his place.  I had the boys all day long.  We started with a southern style breakfast of biscuits and gravy, eggs, cheese grits, chicken sausage and turkey bacon. (Camp Scatico keeps kosher.)  In the afternoon we made roast beef and turkey po’boys, and then for dinner we made a chicken gumbo, dirty and white rice, skirt steak (’cause the boys wanted steak), and beignets with caramel and chocolate sauces and bananas foster with a vanilla cream. Oh, wait– I almost forgot crowning touch, the faux-hurricane fruit punch! We all wore beads and during cleanup the boys played some poker. I loved how into it they got!  We were really living it up.

Beignet with toppings!

Beignet with toppings!

A great time was had by all.  Chalk up one more amazing Camp Scatico memory!

Me in action at Mini Camp!

Me in action at Mini Camp!

Leave a Reply

