City Gal Reunites With Car

People who ask me about my life in New York are always amazed about the fact that I don’t drive.

“You don’t drive anywhere?” they’ll ask me incredulously. I always respond that no, the trains are very safe and efficient, and in the event that they’re not, cabs are plentiful and, compared to the cost of insuring and parking a car in New York City, cheap.

But the N line doesn’t run to Elizaville, and a cab in this case would cost me thousands. So my father took pity on me and lent me a car for the summer. I visited Connecticut to practice a bit last weekend… let’s just say I’m rusty. However, the camp is only an hour away, and I am taking roads I’ve driven many times. My friend Kerri, who is also working at Scatico for her second summer, has assured me that she would drive if we go out at night. (I think my friends are more nervous about my driving than I am.)

However, the drive went great!  Driving a car is a little like riding a bike (or so I’m told.  I can’t ride a bike either).  Basically, it all came back to me.  I may have been just the tiniest bit distracted while on the road.  SO much setting up to do once I arrive….

 

Leave a Reply

